First Wholesale Deal! Back Taxes??

20 Replies

Hello BP,

I have my first wholesale deal under contract in South Jersey for 19k. Repairs are in the 35-45k range. ARV estimate is in the 110-125k range. The issue is that the current owner of the property has 13k in back taxes on the property. I guess you could say I am a believer in the "ready, fire, aim" philosophy but was quite excited to come across what looks my first qualified lead. The property was inherited, owned free and clear, but current owner is unable to pay the back taxes on the property.

How should I address the back taxes issue?  Is title unable to transfer until back taxes are paid up?  or should I have calculated the back taxes into my 19k offer price presuming that back taxes would be paid up by the end buyer?  

Also, when should i open up title search on this?  before or after i have an end buyer?

Nick

hey Nick, for starters let me at that I am a newbie and I commend you on your taking action. I'm getting there! With that being said this is just my opinion and with my little experience in the industry I could be wrong so plz don't quote me. The taxes will have to get paid before the sale, not to mention I don't think your end buyer will want the headache of back taxes. So more than likely you will have to add that 13k to the 19k asking price which will most likely cut into your profit. Here are the numbers I figured 13k + 19k = 32k ( your asking price) if you go with your maximum estimate for repairs of 45k and add that to "your" asking price your end buyer will have invested 77k into this property which is exactly 70% of the minimum ARV of 110k which is what your end buyer will see. My newbie advice would say see if you can lock in a lower asking price than 19k. Because the seller doesn't have to many options. Either he sells to you or he loses it at a tax sale. Hope this helped a little. But I'll be tuning in to see what the seasoned guys say. Good luck Nick! Oh and definitely open up title