seller very upset over offer

22 Replies

Hey everyone,

Ran into a situation today where an offer I made was not only denied but followed up with a lengthy email about how I am a scam artist and that if I'm not serious about buying the home than she is a business owner in town and is going to spread word about me.

Anyone run into this situation?  What is the best way to handle this.  Trying not to get too worked up but just starting out and trying to get this going the last thing I want is my reputation damaged by saying I'm a scam artist.  Plus my reputation means a lot to me in general.

Any input would be greatly appreciated

@Corey Hassan  i would not worry about sellers being mad at you over a low offer,
why dont you post the numbers here and you can get some info from other investors

good luck 

@Corey Hassan  

Surely as a business owner she understands you too are in business and, to assure your continued success, need to acquire inventory in a cost effective manner ;-)

If she did not counter, but only sent you a rant.  I allow a few days to pass for her to mull it over and then follow-on with a phone call.   If you receive an earful, stay calm and politely end the call by telling her that if or when she might like to negotiate, please feel free to get in-touch.   Then move on to a better use of your time.

I remember a podcast I heard where a recent RE business hired an assistant from another local realtor, and that realtor started spreading untrue rumors around town about his business in retaliation.  He followed up with sending them brownies and a nice note that created a tranquility and peace between the two business'.  You could do the same. Send over a box of cookies or brownies with a nice note saying your here to help the community and the industry. See where that goes.  

@Aaron Thivierge @Mark Brogan  @Roy N.