LLC's S-Corp vs Corporation selection for tax purposes

7 Replies

Im a newbie investor. Stupid enough to create an LLC on 12-01-14. Now I have to file taxes for that LLC. I have no partners and plan to wholesale properties. Should I classify my LLC as an S-Corp or Corporation? Or can I just leave it as is - "disregarded entity" ?

Note:  I have no profits within the 31 day! period.  Any advice from people actively wholesaling is much appreciated.  Thank you.

Don't worry it's not uncommon for business to file their docs but not start business until the following year. If irs does send you a letter asking where is this LLC reported, just send back explanation it did not start business until 2015. And yes I would treat LLC as a disregarded entity for tax purposes when you do buy your first property which means you report your property on your own personal return on schedule E. The compliance cost for s-corp is not worth it for a new investor.

Cameron.. . my intent is to assign the contracts, not purchase the property.  Would you still advise the same?

@Cameron Skinner gives great advice. Dont file taxes the first year. If you didn't earn you should be fine... now that's NOT true if you earn, than don't, than do, than don't... like that. You WILL have to file every year. But if its a sole member LLC taxed as a S-corp, it will be a "pass through" and just show up on your Schedule C of your tax returns... shouldn't cost you much to have it prepared every year.

@Anthony Arias

If your LLC is single member LLC (that can be with a spouse), then the entity is "disregarded" for your Federal return.