Trying to Get Started!

9 Replies

Hello All,

I'm still totally new to wholesaling and real estate investing in general. I've been really hesitating for the past few days about starting into wholesaling. I really want to do this as a starting point of investing and to be able to branch out from here, but I've been having doubts about putting myself out there because I don't have a real estate license. I feel we live in a "sue-crazy" world where everyone's suing everyone. I don't want to get caught up in a bad situation like that. I've read blogs on here and other sites stating that " you don't need a license to wholesale because you're flipping contracts, not property." I feel that sellers are going to expect me to be licensed. Maybe I'm thinking too hard about this, but I'm very cautious person so it's hard for me to jump in the deep end and hope for the best. I like kinda knowing what I'm getting into. I need some guidance on what to do about this? How can I feel confident as a new wholesaler in front of sellers without raising eyebrows or getting in trouble? Any advice is much appreciated. 

@Bianca Garrett

Hey Bianca. If you are truly nervous about wholesaling without a license then get your license! I am a wholesaler in Nashville, TN. and I do not have a license. I wouldn't worry too much about it if I was you. I am upfront with my sellers and let them know that I work with a lot of investors and sometimes I keep the deals for myself and sometimes I pass them off to them. I have found that if you are upfront with sellers from the beginning then you shouldn't have a problem. 

From an education standpoint, getting a license won't do much for you.  I did the hours and passed the test and decided not to hang it.  Most of that education is how agency relationships work and how to farm for listings.  Sqft of an acre. When was RESPA.