Pulling Probate Leads in Fairfax County, Virginia

4 Replies

I'm a newbie wholesaler in Fairfax, Virginia. I've been trying to pull probate leads using Fairfax County's archaic and seemingly intentionally byzantine public access system (CPAN). It's free at the court house or $150 a quarter online.

I've watched lots of YouTube videos on how to do this elsewhere. I've read articles until my eyes crossed. I've asked at various REIA meetings and no one seems to know how to get this done.

One Realtor opined that the Clerk's office made it nearly impossible because they were hiding malfeasance and poor record keeping. All I know for sure is that one of the wealthiest counties in the United States decades behind the average.

So, all that said, is there anyone out there who has cracked this particular nut? I'm determined to beat this!

Yes, there are a handful of people who work this niche.

Many are intimidated by what they believe is a complicated legal process. Most don't even get past the initial step of gathering court data, let alone marketing to those persons involved.

The initial pain-in-the-butt challenge is list building. The availability of reliable online data is pretty non-existent, despite what some may tell you. I had a guy from upstate New York try to sell me data who turned out to have some kind of substance abuse and anger issues. Glad I trusted my gut and distanced myself before associating with him.

I currently have local service for my area that I'm happy with as this beats pulling data from court files manually as I did in the early days or paying someone else to research case files.

Then the learning come in. There is a lot to know about title, documents, legal process and the nature of heirs. If you are up to the challenge, it is very lucrative but not for amateurs who are compelled to work through agents and brokers rather than directly with estate sellers.