Direct Marketing Response - "I'll sell, for the right price"

9 Replies

Pretty simple - I get this response pretty frequently when a potential seller calls back on our marketing, "I'll sell, for the right price." 

I'm curious what other marketers are doing when they get this response. I typically try to ask what they feel the right price is and go from there, usually they either don't want to give up that info or it is something crazy. Mostly they end up on the drip list and just get continued contact. 

Is there a better strategy out there? How do others deal with those types of responses?

Good question.  I'm new at this but maybe my response will get some juices flowing.  

They don't want top dollar.

If they are calling you then there is some reason they don't want to go the conventional route.  They might not want to spend more money to fix it up, hire a realtor, put it on the market proper and wait for it to finally sell.

I would talk less about numbers (even though they will act like that's all they care about) and try to get a better understanding of their overall situation.  What is their ideal selling situation.  Quick?  No repairs?  No hassle?  Fair price?  Try to feel their situation and build trust before even think about a number.  If the house is in good shape and would do better being sold conventionally for retail I would tell them so.

If they throw out a crazy number that's pretty much the same.  If the house was worth that and they wanted top dollar they would go conventional.  They know that, you know that.  There is some reason they are calling you and it's your job to uncover that.  If you help them realize that they would rather sell for retail with a realtor then that's great.  You connected, built trust and and consulted a prospect on what their best path is for their own personal situation.  That can only reflect well on you and your business.

Like I said, I'm brand spanking new but that's how I've always conducted business!