Can a licensed real estate agent wholesale property in Florida?

13 Replies

@Jacques Wurms it depends on how your broker feels about it. I have a realtor that I work with, whose broker understands real estate investing so he doesn't mind. You do have to make some disclosures to the seller (I don't know what those are), but I believe what you want to find out is if your broker understands what you will be doing.

There are quite a few realtor/Brokers on BP that can chime in.

I don't think investors make enough offers. I like to negotiate the best possible deal put it under contract and present a worked out deal to my investors.

Proper disclosure being:

I am a realtor and I will be trying to assign this contract? 

What if I ask the seller for a 3% commission if I bring a buyer, and then make an offer with assignment? Is it legal to make money on two sides?

Originally posted by @Jacques Wurms :

Proper disclosure being:

I am a realtor and I will be trying to assign this contract? 

What if I ask the seller for a 3% commission if I bring a buyer, and then make an offer with assignment? Is it legal to make money on two sides?

That seems a little shady..................BUT if you disclose EVERYTHING and seller still agrees, thats a different story...I would feel even better letting seller know what the ARV is so that ALL is transparent.....just my 2 cents

Sounds like a real estate board would be sceptical that you're doing what's best for your "client".  If you're going to take a commission for "selling" the home I'm going to assume they'll consider them your client.  If you're going to make money on buying/assigning then you'll probably be ok depending on local laws, assuming you fully disclose to seller what your intent is.

Of course everything has to be disclosed. Point of this discussion is to find the legal boundaries, and find alternative ways of doing deals.

I wouldn't double dip. You should be able to just collect your assignment and be okay with that.