Cash buyers only?

10 Replies

Hi everyone, I have been listening to the podcasts about wholesaling and the main question I have is: Is wholesaling strictly geared towards cash buyers or can you do buyer financing?
Is cash buying simply a means of making the transaction happen as quickly as possible or is it completely necessary?
Has anyone had experience wholesaling to a buyer who needs financing or is that more of a realtor thing?

I still have yet to make my first deal however I have built a list of properties and am sending out my mail this week. I am still new to everything so any advice will help! Thanks guys!

There's a lot of different ideas about what constitutes wholesaling. Generally,  a true wholesaler - meaning you're going to want to pass the property off to another buyer - is going to want to arrange things  so that she can work with financed buyers as well. It opens up a much wider buyer pool.

If you're doing an "I buy houses" effort and promising you can do a 3-day close like some people I've seen on here, you're going to need to be able to pay cash for the house, actually close on it, and then resell it  to someone else. But most wholesalers are setting things up for a 30-day close so they have time to find a buyer, let the buyer do financing  if need be, and then close.

This financing would typically be an already set up investor line of credit. A wholesale deal doesn't give you time for a buyer to start from scratch on financing.

@Hadyn Hausler The goal of wholesaling is strictly to get in and out of a property as fast as possible and get paid for your efforts. So that is why wholesaling is geared to use cash buyers. They have cash, you can assign your contract to them, and they can complete the deal within your 30 day closing you set-up with the seller.