How to pay a realtor if they bring you a buyer on a wholesale?

12 Replies

So here's the question:

Once you have a great wholesale deal under contract, I've hear that it's a great strategy to find realtors who have sold property in the immediate area to cash buyers, and to contact those realtors and ask them if their cash buyer would be interested in the property you're looking to wholesale. To me, this sounds like a great way to leverage local realtors to get deals done.

Being that I'm an agent and have access to the MLS, I can easily find these realtors and their contact information. But, I also know that realtors/brokers will only use the state contracts for transactions.

So exactly how would the realtor who brings the buyer in get paid? Would this be a referral fee? I can't imagine it being a standard buyer's agent commission since the contract would not be a broker-approved contract. Has anyone done this type of transaction, and if so, what are the details of the paperwork?

Thanks for your time and consideration fellow BP'ers!

I agree contacting agents is a great strategy to advertise your properties. Of course this adds to the expenses of the overall project to your end buyer. The numbers just have to work out for the investor utilizing the realtor's services to make financial sense. I would always market the properties to the agents and not assume the numbers don't work. Allow the agent and buyer to make that decision.

You will have to ask the agent if the typical 3% fee will be charged. In Texas the agent doesn't normally have the ability to adjust the percentage of the fee as this is negotiated by the broker. So the broker will have to give input on adjusting the fee amount. Sometimes when it comes to investors the broker may allow a flat fee since the buyer might have a special arrangement based of past business.