Breaking the 70% Rule on High Value, Low Repair Properties?

11 Replies

So I'm new to wholesaling and am trying to figure out the basics of pricing.

Everything that I've come across so far tells me to make an offer of no more than 70% of the ARV.

But what if the house is worth a lot and needs minimum repairs?

What if my ARV is 390,000 and the house only needs 5k worth of rehab.

If I can pick it up at 337, and the investor buying it from me stands to make roughly 30k profit....

Is this not a wholesale deal?  is it not reasonable to serve this up as a wholesale deal and charge 3k for the assignment?

would you buy this deal? 

or is it written in stone that unless it's 70% of the ARV then it's not worth pursuing.

in this case here we are actually at 86% of the ARV, but it only needs 5k worth of work.

Shouldn't that be a factor?

Have to look at this through the eyes of the investor. If the house is not at the 70% ARV rule then they will pass on the deal most of hte time. Hope this helps.

To your success,

every market is different, every buyer is different. 70-75% ARV minus repairs is the norm. It can fluctuate due to the fact that the 70% "rule" adds a buffer for repair cost mistakes (I think it's 10% of the 30% discount ). We can typically wholesale to a contractor who'll be doing some of the work for 75% of ARV minus repairs, remember you're saving them marketing dollars and most importantly the time and hassles that come along with negotiating with sellers.

Promotion
PPR Note Company
Note Investing
Diversify your portfolio and get completely passive cashflow.
All without tenants, repairs, or vacancies - in a real-estate-backed investment fund.
Here's how.