Finders Commissions

8 Replies

Hello, 

I'm new to wholesaling and I'm familiar with assigning the contract and double closing. I was also wondering about finders commissions? How do they work? 

@Glenn Gayet you mean if you find a buyer for another wholesaler's deal?  Whatever amount you discuss with them BEFORE telling your buyer about the property

@Brie Schmidt I was building my buyers list and texting an investor. He said if he wants the property himself we could do a finders commission and if we wholesale it together we'd split it. 

@Glenn Gayet - so you would present him the deal with whatever finder's commission you want built into it.  Then he can decide if it is a good deal to him or if he can wholesale it.  Either way stay at your acquisition plus fee.

@Glenn Gayet

I agree. If someone wants to partner with you it's probably because they are having a hard time finding deals, or they want to mentor you. But I doubt mentors are coming to hunt you down. So my guess is this guy is in need of help when it comes to lead generation. My take is this, if it's your deal coming to the table, you take 75% of the total fee and pay him 25% for using his buyer and that's as high as I would go. I wouldn't commit to giving him dibs on any deal he wants. Take the acquisition fee as @Brie Schmidt suggests. If you start letting this guy pay you a bird-dog fee, you'll end up working for him for chump change and missing out on opportunities to deal with other investors that might be able to open new doors to you.

Build a buyers list, keep this guy on it, but don't just sell to him. Put your deals out there to maximize your earning potential through good ole' fashion competition.