Can you wholesale a deal won at the auction?

33 Replies

Hello BP,

I am fairly new to REI and was wondering if you can wholesale a deal that you win at the courthouse steps? If so, how would I go about doing this?

So if I place the highest bid at an auction and they have said yes, you have won, then do I directly go to pay for this deal in all cash? Where then would my buyer fall in?

Thank you all in advance for the help!

I'm not 100% on this. 

But I know that I've never seen a property sell at auction in our market that was any where near enough of a deal to really whole sale

Also- you're buying the house outright with cash, IF you found a killer deal then I think you'd actually have to close then re-sell to an investor. I don't think the bank will let you assign over the right to your winning bid basically. 

auctions in WA are cash on the barrel head at the time of the auction. you need cashiers checks to buy then you can sell . takes 5 to 14 days to get your deed.

@Natalie Kolodij Thank you for the input!

@Jay Hinrichs So would it make sense to use hard money or private funding to actually buy the property, only to directly wholesale the deal (If it is a great deal based on the numbers and such)? Or would this make more sense to rehab and flip if i'm going to go out and get such funding? 

Thanks!

It's going to be incredibly hard to get hard money funding for your first deal to be purchased at the steps. 

Hard money lending is based on the deal- and you won't be able to view the property, get solid comps, present it to the lenders, and have them decide. I don't see this auction angle being plausible. 

You're also not really wholesaling the deal, directly or otherwise. Wholesaling doesn't involve taking ownership you're just selling the contract for the right to purchase a property at that price.