Someone called me back! FIRST Yellow Letters

8 Replies

Hey everyone ! I'm new to wholesaling I sent out my first direct mail letters to houses that I saw while D4D! I have a spreadsheet set up with address, owner info, notes etc.
This house in particular that called back had a FSBO in front of it...
I've seen on some of the forums that wholesalers will attempt to do these , but mostly it's the boarded up, vacant, absentee owners etc.
My question is can I try to get this under contract if it's a good deal and find a buyer ?
Do wholesalers typically shoot for the FSBO houses or pass? He sounded motivated b/c he said the house is too big for him and his wife and they already have another home. He was just making sure I wasn't a realtor b/c he wanted to avoid commissions etc. (his words). I scheduled an appointment for Tuesday at 1pm. I'm nervous as heck lol.

Any advise or tips would be helpful guys!
Thanks , Porsha

Yes get a contract signed that is set to do what you want, namely wholesale. Put in the contract 'This contract is contingent on my partners approval.'

Thank you I will def do that when I go to the appointment on Tuesday!

"Contingent upon partner approval" is a WEAK contingency clause. It's been debunked on here several times as pretty dang unethical. You can't technically enter into a contract if you don't have the authority to do so without a partner. 

With a FSBO you're going to have to get it at a pretty substantial discount below what he has "listed" for. FSBO can be a GREAT source of leads/deals. But you have to be able to haggle efficiently. I prefer the FSBO's that aren't done "right". Ex: Not on Zillow/Trulia/Craigslist.