How to get started in Wholesaling?

9 Replies

I know Wholesaling is when you find great dealers and bring them to someone(usually an investor) to buy.  But my question is, how do you even get started?  What business to form, marketing, amount of money needed to start, and how to market/find people to buy your good leads?  

Mike, you have access to a ton of information right here at Bigger Pockets.  At the top of the page you will see the heading 'Education'.  Click on that.  Then click on the tab Videos.  In the search box put 'Starting to Wholesale' or 'Beginning to Wholesale'.  Good luck!

If you search, you will find.   And find, and find and find. 

@Mike Bereck

I am a newbie wholesaler about a few weeks ahead of you in the learning curve. These are the sources I recommend you read first.

Bird Dog is a less official wholesaler with less pay off and headaches; you may want to try your hand at that for a little but perhaps not.

Read this first.
https://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/12/topics/369...

Second

https://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/why-whole...

Perhaps you want to read this last because it can be overwhelming

https://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2015/01/3...

Also Brandon Turner's "The Book On Investing in .... with No(and low) Money Down" has been very helpful for me. I was sketchy before I bought it thinking it might be guruey but there is a whole section on wholesaling in there and it is great for a beginner; I also learned much about financing in this book. The author, Brandon, is a big guy in the Bigger Pockets community and hosts their podcasts and webinars.

@Roland Paicely So, I clicked on the Videos tab under Education. I didn't see any search box except the one at the top of the screen, in the browser. When I searched for starting to wholesale, it searched the internet and returned a bunch of information about wholesaling things made in other countries.

What am I missing?