Questions about Wholesaling

10 Replies

Good Morning everyone, I am a 28 year old from Baltimore, MD. I have a beautiful wife and a silly but very lovable four year old daughter. I have been a police officer for almost four years now and I am looking to gain financial freedom. Based off of the research that I have done, I have come to find out that real estate investing is one of the most prominent ways to achieve that freedom that I am seeking. Furthermore, my studies have taken me to the area of Wholesaling, which is said to be an easy way to becoming an investor. I am not a naive person at all and I know that it will take a lot of time, patience , and consistency as far as marketing, building a reputation, buyer’s list, etc. The question that I am asking is, is Wholesaling, if done correctly with integrity still the best way to begin investing? If so, are there any good REIA’s that I would be able to attend to network and start making the right connections? Mentors? I just want to be a social butterfly in Real Estate, I am looking to learn all that I can and make real life changing money along the way.

@Artavius Williams Wholesaling is NOT easy. It is hard to find good deals.  It is really hard to find  deals so good both you and the investors you sell to can make money. 

People say wholesaling is a good way to start because it can theoretically be done with virtually no money. That is not realistic as you need money for marketing etc.

You should find the best way for YOU to start. It will be different for different people.  It depends on your goals, your resources; mainly time, knowledge and money and your tolerance to risk. 

There are lots of investing groups in the area. Google REIA or real estate meetup.

You also need to know your state laws  and what is legal or not legal.