CA Realtor, how do I wholesale properly?

5 Replies

Hello everyone, I am a Realtor in the state of California. I am trying to wholesale a property I have identified already. The seller understands I wont be acting as a broker in the transaction and have found the potential buyer to assign the contract to. The hardest part is the contract. Can I use my Zip forms? If so do I just leave the Broker information blank? Do I write an addendum to explain that I am acting as a principle not a broker? Do I fill out and sign the Seller Non-Agency Agreement or the Buyer Non-Agency Agreement even though the Real Estate Purchase Agreement does not have me listed as a broker? I spoke with my compliance department in my company and she addressed how difficult it would be to separate myself from my real estate knowledge and from my responsibilities as Realtor. I was thinking of putting someone else as the buyer but my compliance department said if I guide them in any way or tell them what to do I would be acting as a broker. Furthermore, if the seller or buyer were to come after anyone I would be liable, I wouldn't be properly protected, put my company at risk, and Zip forms are proprietary documents with an intended use, and the California Association of Realtors could come down on me for improperly using their documents. How do I protect myself from the worst case scenario? How do I wholesale as a California Realtor?

It was a long time ago, 23 years to be precise, since I took my first real estate courses for my license. However, as I recall, the teacher at the Ca. School of Real estate said probably 100 times during the course a realtor can not buy a property from a seller and then sell for more money to a buyer if they are representing the seller.  If I am remembering this wrong I apologize. If there is another agent representing the seller then I have no idea. Anyway, I suggest you call CAR and ask them how to do it legally.

@Oscar Lopez