Is this the usual attitude in wholesaling?

27 Replies

I am a licensed real estate agent. My husband has been looking into getting into real estate wholesaling.

After watching a bunch of videos and looking around wholesaling FB groups, I see that there is a very large majority of people that think that telling homeowners they are the buyers when in fact they really aren't isn't wrong.

Am I the only one that doesn't think this is right?

Hey @Meagan Dorsey I'm a licensed agent. But I'm an investor and wholesaler full-time. When you contract to buy a home, you are in fact the buyer at that moment. You can choose to move forward with buying the home for yourself, or you can assign your rights of purchasing the home to another buyer, as long as your contract states you can do so. There have been several occasions on deals I've wholesaled where we didn't assign the contract, and we actually closed on the property using a double close, or even transactional funding. Then re-sold the property same day. Hopefully that helps you feel more comfortable with your husband getting in the business using this strategy. If you have any other questions, or still feel that this isn't "right". I'll be happy to chat further with you guys. 

Thanks for your response. I actually had a meeting with a representative of my broker this morning and there are a lot of rules to be careful of when being an agent and doing wholesale. I found out that I can't even put out bandit signs because as a agent, you can't put out real estate signs without your brokerage name and the usual equal housing opportunity images on there.

He said wholesaling is perfectly legal as long as I am careful of how I tell things to a seller. Way too many things to list here.