Title searches when wholesaling

1 Reply

Hi everyone, hope your holiday went great. I am just starting out in wholesaling, I have a partner in another area of the state, so we will be working two areas in Northern California to find properties. I also have another partner so to speak, who will be doing the negotiating for me on the buying and selling of my properties for a 20% fee. My question, is related to articles I've read on wholesaling where it is recommended that after I contract the property, then open title on it. I would prefer not to be on title or involved with this process for obvious reasons. How can I set up my business to keep things as simple as possible and yet not get burned in the process? Is doing property inspections, title searches and repair estimates a necessity for me as a wholesaler? I appreciate your advice and suggestions ahead of time. Thank you very much. -Timo :violin:

By opening title, you won't necessarily be on the title. Opening title merely means that the title company will begin to search the title to make sure it is clear and can be legally transferred. This process is completely necessary in order to sell any property. It must be proved that the title is clear and normally insured that it is clear or any buyer is not going to want to purchase it. Imagine paying a $100,000 for a house only to find out that the person you bought it from wasn't really the legal owner.