How do you select the best neighborhoods to drive for dollars.

7 Replies

New wholesaler here and my question is how does one select the neighborhood to drive in when driving for dollars.  I often find that many neighborhoods are either too nice and don't have any distressed proprieties or are all distressed like areas of the city with row homes that all look the same.

@Michel Lautensack keep driving.. I have found even really rich neighborhoods have distressed homes. They are not as distressed, look for stuff like single pane windows, older style of trees - there are several shrubs that were extremely popular in the 80s and are not popular now.. look for wheelchair ramps. Versus a war zone would been totally boarded up - to keep out squatters etc.

I am not an expert here, but I would pick neighborhoods that are not warzone, that are quite decent, manicured lawns, people are friendly, kids playing on the streets.

See it is not about really where the deals are this time (I am a huge advocate on "go where the deals are"). You need to be able to sign away the contract after you sign it.

If a flipper you want a single family house in a decent neighborhood as I just mentioned.

If you are dealing with a buy and hold back end buyer you have more opportunity. A not so great neighborhood could still be attractive for a 3 unit multi to rent out, even if section 8!

The best thing you can do really is get in touch with real investors (investors that actually invest regularly) and then you put them in groups.

Which of them have purchased single families, and in what towns and for how much.

The second group are the investors that purchased multi families, again in which towns and for how much.

If a single investor buys in both groups, buy him a Shirley temple, rub his back and call him every night to tell him "I love you and I miss you good night butterbutt".