Best way to target off market deals?

18 Replies

Hey I am an agent that works with numerous investors. I look through the MLS for deals but there isn't a lot out there. What would be the best way to find off market deals? I'd be open to hiring someone to convert for me or use FB ads. I know off market is a huge pipeline and would benefit my clients a lot. Any feedback or advice is appreciated, thanks!

Promotion
BiggerPockets
The one-stop-shop for REI
Find Local Home Improvement Pros!
Check out our network of trusted, local contractors for all of your home improvement projects.
Find a Contractor

Best way to find motivated sellers is to purchase lists and compile lists for high equity, absentee owners, 60-90-120 days late on mortgage, pre-foreclosure, delinquent taxes, water cutoff, code violation, evictions, probate, divorce, etc. and mail or cold call.

Other methods are driving for dollars, door knocking, wholesalers, craigslist, Realtors, FSBO sites, expired listings, put out bandit signs, billboards, newspapers, other offline publications.

You can use pay per click/adwords, facebook, Linkedin, Youtube, and other forms of online and social media marketing.

@Caleb Brown Look for “for rent” signs or rental ads and call them. Let them know you’re an investor and you’re curious if they’ve considered selling. We bought a 4 plex this way a couple months ago. There are lots of landlords that want to get out of the game, and vacancies are high stress times when they might just want to offload the problem. In our situation with the 4 plex, the owner is close to retirement and wants to start selling them off. It works!

@Matt Pastier

That’s a brilliant idea! I’ll give a call to some tomorrow. What if they have property management?