‘SUBJECT TO’ advice and tips

7 Replies

Hello, I'm glad to have an opportunity to bring forward a concern of mine. I'm pretty new in the RE World/wholesaling but I have some general knowledge. I have found a distressed seller. They want to get rid of the property ASAP, circumstances have made it a hassle to pay the mortgage. This would be my first wholesale, if I was wholesaling it. But I'm actually interested in purchasing ‘Subject-To' for myself. Property would definitely be a fixer-upper, it would cost anywhere from 15k-20k to rehab although it could be cut down by doing the work myself. ARV was approx $189k, seller still owes $134k. I've read up on subject to existing loan stuff here on BP, and through YouTube , I'm out here in California and I just wanna make sure I know what I'm doing.

Thanks for your time

Sincerely, Issac.

Isaac,

One thing you need to check is the seller is not behind on other things like property taxes. 

Of course, you need to do a title check to be sure the seller is indeed the owner of the property or the one on the deed. It's possible for one person to be on the mortgage and another to be on the deed so you need to be sure you're dealing with the person or all the persons who have the right to sell the house.

During the title check, you will find out if there are any other liens, like mechanics lien, or in some states/cities, you can have a municipal lien for unpaid water/sewer.

Now having said the above, your numbers seem marginal specially if you plan to flip the property. As a rental, it might work but it depends on the mortgage payments. If you plan to keep it as a rental, you need to look at the mortgage promissory note to be sure you're aware of the terms of the mortgage. What if it's a 3/1 ARM and the seller-borrower is 2 years and 9 months into it. You don't want to be shocked that the mortgage payment increases in 3 months.

Originally posted by @Issac Garcia :