Assignment contracts in DFW

5 Replies

Hello, I’m a real estate agent in DFW. I have recently closed on a home where the seller had an assignment contract with her insurance agent (I was representing the buyer). We closed on it and her insurance agent received 12k from the transaction simply for listing the home. I am wondering how one can do this, and if this is something I should look into doing to expand my real estate business as an agent (assignment contracts that is)

@Maria Lopez OK that is strange. Was her insurance agent also a wholesaler? Was the property listed with a realtor? It all sounds pretty fishy to me.

As for assignments, you are going to get comments from both ends of the spectrum, but I will give you my 2 cents. I think you will earn a lot more doing assignments (wholesaling) than you will doing traditional real estate agent transactions. I think its definitely something you should consider. Feel free to reach out to me if you have questions!

Yes he must have been a wholesaler, he mentioned he does transactions like it all the time. 

So Lydia, how do you get people to sell you their home or enter an assignment contract and agree to pay such a big fee to you just for listing their home? Sorry just doesn’t make much sense to me how it all works.