due diligence

4 Replies

Hey everybody,

I'm new to investing, I've been trying to snag my first wholesale for months now. No luck, did the direct mail campaign thing, a lot of responses, no deals. I'm racking my brain, to try and figure out if I'm spending too much time on due diligence. First off, is it really customary for a wholesaler to do deep due diligence work, such as liens and back taxes, mortgages, everything? Or is that something that is the end buyers responsibility? I feel like I should do some, but I also feel like I'm stressing out about it too much. I'm new and trying to streamline things so if anybody could tell me, in general, my responsibilities so I can streamline things that would be very helpful.

Thanks!

What was your direct mail strategy? How many mailers and how often? What group did you mail to?

@Douglas Rath , rather than spending all of your time on due diligence, I'd say your first order of business is to find out whether or not the property owner is willing to sell at the price you need.

Before you start doing any "homework", I think you'll find that it's VERY helpful to know whether or not you're actually talking to motivated seller.

If you want to get results as quickly as possible, be very honest and direct with everybody you talk to. One of your first questions should be, "Are you willing to sell your property for less than 50% of market value?"

If they say "No" (and many of them will), then get off the phone and move on. If they say "Yes" - then you know you're dealing with someone who warrants more of your time.

Due diligence is an important part of the process, but things need to happen in the right sequence. The last thing we want to do is waste time researching deals that we don't even have a shot at.