As a Realtor does my broker get a cut when I pursue wholesaling?

12 Replies

I am a Realtor in the state of Florida and my partner and I will be starting an investment company. We are wanting to begin with with wholesaling then transition into fix & flips over time. However, I am not quite sure as a licensed realtor if I would have to give my broker a cut.I won't be acting as a realtor in the wholesale transactions only as an entity (LLC). The only time I would present the realtor hat is when we get into selling the homes we flip.

Just want to get clarification on whether my broker gets a cut when we begin wholesaling as a business since I am a realtor. 

I dont know Florida RE law but I would assume you wont have to pay any fees to your Broker. 

You can always ask your broker and they will tell you.

Good luck 

Depends on your independence contractor agreement.

Keep in mind though that once you become a licensed individual, you can not act autonomously in any real estate activities. Once licensed, all your real estate activities, not just your sales, will be subject to both your brokers supervision as well as the oversight of your state real estate commission/Dept of licensure.

@Russell Brazil @Curt Davis Thank you for your input. Maybe I worded it wrong because I do know being licensed at any point my transactions can be subject to review for whatever reason under my broker and as a business owner. But if my LLC is with another individual who has no ties to my broker and we are signing contracts on investment properties ,what happens then ? because my partner is not an agent. If I get clarification on how to operate as the CEO of another entity having a partner I would feel more confident in how I navigate both lanes.