Clarify the relationship between realtors and wholesalers?

20 Replies

As I'm studying wholesaling, a lot of advice is saying to connect with realtors. I'm still not quite sure how wholesalers and realtors collaborate to their mutual benefit. It makes sense that realtors would have the MLS access and could pass along listing information to wholesalers, but I'm confused as to how realtors benefit. It seems like we would be in direct competition. Are we trading referrals instead? I'm so confused. Can someone help me understand?

My experience thus far has been that realtors are against wholesalers saying we're just a bunch of scammers operating without a license. I say it's because we are, as you said, competition. However if you're lucky enough to actually locate a realtor that's willing to work with you it would be to your advantage. The dibble dip strategy then comes into play, meaning you both earn a commission. Good luck.

depends on your market ..  there are certain markets and asset types that wholesalers thrive in.. in other assets and markets not so much to very little activity for the wholesaler..   in those markets the I buyers have moved in.. and they close on everything first they use the same techniques IE mass market  robo call.. low ball the crap out of any seller with the hope of a big score.. but they actually close..  now in some markets they get pretty aggressive on what they pay ( the I buyers) there are a few hedge funds that i have seen move into a C D space in the mid west and upper mid west and they can be aggressive.   But by and large I think trying to network with realtors is going to be a waste of your time.