Working with a realtor or not

8 Replies

I'm just starting out. I've been doing some property locating for other investors, but was thinking about wholesaling. I was wondering what are the advantages/disadvantages in working with a realtor or not. I've approached working with a particular realtor who is an investor also, so they know how to spot a deal. However, they want me to sign a 6 month exclusivity contract with them. Is this standard? I don't want to lose out on deals if they can find them for me, but I don't want to be taken advantage of either.

Please help!!!

The best deals are found without using a realtor. They may occasionally come across something but the majority of good deals are found through other methods. I can’t imagine why you would even consider an exclusive contract, they are just trying to lock you up so that they get a piece of your action. Don’t do it.

8)

The only contract i'll be signing is the one from me to the seller.And the only time i would work with them is if they find me a deal worth pursuing.Also if they ever try to tie me up with a 6 month contract i would probably laugh in there face. I strongly agree with Rehab702 don't do it. :protest: :protest: :protest: :protest: :protest: :protest:

Regards,
Jorge

:superman: "Natural Born Go Getter" :superman:

Whats wrong with signing an EBA? Just make sure that it is for listed properties only and not any that you find that are not on the MLS. The realtor wants to make sure that you are going to work with him if he is going to work with you. There is nothing worse than showing someone 40-50 houses and then having them tell you that they bought a property that they saw and called the listing agent on. Kind of makes you want to ask them to pay for your time, value of the education, and gas money that you expended.