What questions do you ask your CPA & Attorney?

3 Replies

To all that either have had the opportunity to deal with attorneys and CPA's or not I will take all advice given. I am just beginning and wanted to know the basic steps in vetting a attorney and CPA. What are the basic questions you would ask, have asked, or will ask in the future to determine if the individual has a general knowledge on real estate investing. 

a podcast on here said one of the first questions should be: do you own any investment real estate? 

in the podcast they recommended finding one who has an active interest in real estate investing, aka owns some other then their primary residence.

this is supposed to help ensure they are experienced in that field and know all the ins & outs regarding the specific tax or whatever subject and how it relates to your real estate investments

I agree with Isaac on the importance of CPAs and attorneys personally thinking and applying the latest and greatest to themselves, which they can then pass along to their clients.  Ask them to describe their type of investing and properties too, to ensure it is applicable to you plus recent.  Also:

1) Ask for at least 3 references of people with similar situations to yours.  Call every one of them, and ask about what areas the CPA/attorney could improve upon, what are their best areas of service, and how have they compared to other CPAs/attorneys in the past?

2) Are they active in any local real estate organizations?  Not imperative, but it can show involvement, interest in staying current, and connections in the field.