Series LLC Formation Lawyer in Washington DC/MD/VA

18 Replies

I listened to the podcast on asset protection, and honestly dismissed it for a couple of weeks. However, the more I am learning about RE, the more I realized that I need to have an asset protection, estate planning and all that stuff in place. My first step is get a series LLC formed in Delaware. Do you know any lawyers who can help in getting this is done right? I live in Washington DC, so someone who knows a ton about DC would be great.

Many thanks!!! I am new to the site, but will post a picture to introduce myself.

Originally posted by @Brad Chandler :

We had a delaware series LLC years ago. Not sure I would do it again. I think it is overkill. What type of investing do you do Peter?

I was looking to use the Illinois version of the series LLC. What was it about it that you didn't like?

I've been creating Series LLCs for clients for over 10 years in Utah. We love them. Fantastic vehicles for holding numerous rental properties. MD/VA do not authorize Series. DC does. Typically I do not set them up for flips/wholesales (we use a tax savings entity for those pursuits). So this is typically an asset protection vehicle to separate out liability one property from the other.

There is debate if you create an foreign series LLC (foreign here means out of your home state) to use in your state and whether the individual series would be considered separate. I'm of the opinion they would not.

For my Utah clients with property in other states, we title them in a trust and make the beneficiary of that trust a series. That way we generally do not need to registered the LLC in that state (saving $) and with the ability to argue that the trust might be in a non-recognizing state, but the beneficiary is and the home state laws would apply.

There are some bookkeeping and logistical hoops to jump through that are different than a standard LLC. You can learn those. But the series is worth it.

Jeff