FHA 203K Loans and LLC's

10 Replies

Hi, obviously I'm a newbie and I apologize in advance if I sound like a fool. I was wondering if someone can be approved for an FHA 203k owner occupied loan while simultaneously putting the property under an entity?

203K cannot be done under an LLC but there's little to stop you from transferring to a trust or other entity later on. Don't get too caught up in needing to put something in a LLC right off anyways. Nothing wrong with owning it in your personal name - just be certain you are adequately insured.

@Ryan Murdock I had 0 clue. Thank you for this.  How about if the initial loan is 203K, you then refi...I suppose after the refi you can make the transfer, yes?

@Moises Benitez You probably could make the transfer after a refi but with a 203k you'd likely have a great rate for a fixed 30 year term so doubtful you'd want to refi away from that unless you really created a ton of equity during your rehab. With that said, I am definitely not a 203k expert and there are guys on here who can give you much better advice than I can.

An LLC is an entity (a business entity). An owner occupied borrower is an entity.

The FHA loan (not to mention the 203K or 203B) are for owner occupied borrowers. So, they are not offered to businesses. That is why you can't purchase as an LLC. An LLC can't occupy.

You can quit deed any property to an LLC at any point after the fact. However, you run the risk of triggering the due on sale clause that the lender places on the loan. It is a very small risk if your loan is current, and there are no other issues, but be aware that it is risk, and it is there all the same.

The best way to transfer a property into an LLC is to do so either once the property is paid off, and there is no lender, OR to obtain a commercial or hard money loan, or any other loan that would lend to a business entity.

@Jose Vazquez @Moises Benitez