How much do you need to retire?

146 Replies

I get markets, lifestyles and goals differ.. but how much passive income do you need coming in to walk away from your full time job? We all are ambitious if we’re on BP.. so what are your goals? What is the line where you say “this is enough for me?”

I now make more from my rental income that I did working and actually left the W2 job last year after matching my W2 salary. I was a teacher and my wife is a nurse. We have 2 little girls that I stay home with while also running our rental properties. My grandparents watch the girls while I am doing rehabs and such. 

With the price of child care and homes staying empty for to long it only made sense for me to start doing this full time. Best decision we have ever made. Our next goal is to bring in enough for my wife to also retire.

Derek E. What is your definition of “rental income?” Is it your cash flow per door? Or do you act as your PM for all your rentals and that is your income? Is it a combo?

Originally posted by @Dawn Curry :

Derek E. What is your definition of “rental income?” Is it your cash flow per door? Or do you act as your PM for all your rentals and that is your income? Is it a combo?

Cash flow per door. I do act as my own property manager.

I was a teacher so I didn't make a whole lot anyways to be honest. 

I also buy all of my homes with cash so they cash flow even more.

To retire at a normal retirement age you need a income of around 70% of your gross employment income.

To retire younger your passive income will need to equal your working income and you will need to continue saving for retirement.  

You would need 10X your working income invested to generate sufficient income for retirement.

"I also buy all of my homes with cash so they cash flow even more."