Where to find the next step

3 Replies

I've been investing in real estate for about 5 years now and have built up a decent portfolio with "okay" cashflow. I'm looking to ramp up my business but not sure where to start. So far, I've bought primarily from wholesalers but the deal flow has really slowed down causing me to want to create my own deals. I'm currently commited to spending $4k a month between hiring help and marketing for deals. Of that $4,000 - I'm spending $1,500 a month on radio ads, and $1,000 a month on direct mail. The remaining $1,500 is flexible and not dedicated on a specific expense.. The problem is, I feel like I'm going too wide too fast and not focused enough on the most important "next step". I'm struggling to determine what the "next step" is that will get me to my next goal of generating $500k of additional cash (to invest in a syndication). I'd like to hire help to follow the "ask who, not how" but I have no idea what I would hire them to do. I'm fine with upping my remaining $1,500 in order to hire a great attribute if necessary. Asking BP, what are your thoughts on how you would proceed?

Well naturally your primary bottleneck is deal flow. So you want to spend cash on things that will get you more deal flow, as directly as possible. Like, you could hire a coach and that would help, but a marketing agency might convert to deal flow quicker and thus be a more effective route to your goal.

I tried the who not how thing on marketing to get more deals last year. Failed on four and $10k, no deals:

1. A guy cold called me about his SEO service and pitch to profit share. I paid him the $800 start up fee and he did crap. Nothing.
  2. I hired a digital marketing agency. They made a great plan and promise, and simply didn't do the work and backed out of the deal. 0 results.