Pay to Join my local REI group or pay for a BP Pro membership?

10 Replies

Hi everyone :) 

I'm just getting started and I'm curious to know your thoughts on where to invest a few hundred dollars. 

My local REI group costs $329 for the year and affords me the opportunity to attend local events, classes, and network. A pro membership at BP also provides a lot of valuable education and I would really like to attend the Bootcamp with Ashley which would cost $489 for both.  

Torn between the two as far as best next steps to take as a beginner. If you were starting over today, which would you pursue?

Thanks in  advance!

Stace

Hey Stacey,

I would definitely recommend joining your local REIA. This option will give you access to investors in your local market and is a great way to springboard your investing journey. I personally believe the BP pro annual membership is worth it. I have used it for my lease agreement, dozens of rental analysis reports and rent estimators. Worst case scenario is that you try it for a year and you determine they were or not worth it. You can also write them off on your taxes as well.

If I were starting over again today, there are three memberships that have been the most useful to me, a membership to my local REIA, Bigger Pockets membership and the membership for my mastermind group The W2 Capitalist. There were two or so other groups that I paid to be a member of in my first year that did not really turn into much. In the end, you will be a millionaire from your real estate so don't be afraid to try a few things when starting out. In your first few years you will end up wasting a few thousand between memberships and mistakes with properties, but you will quickly learn what is worth your time and money, and what is not.

Good luck on your journey!

Thank you, Brandon! That really helps. If I may ask, what do you attribute a mastermind offering to your growth as an investor? Is it clear goal setting and accountability or something more?