User Stats

Votes
Jake Diab
Votes |
Financial Philosophy for First-Time Investment - Single Residential

Jake Diab
Posted Dec 29 2023, 18:11

Hi everyone, 
I'm a full-time touring musician beginning my foray into investing - looking at high ROI markets in Metro Detroit (Excluding the city of Detroit itself) between 80 - 120K purchase price. I have a flexible lender, but thinking of doing minimum 20% down to avoid the PMI fee. Generally, I'm expecting, and am prepared to spend $30,000 between down payment and closing costs, which I can afford.

My question is: Given I plan to buy and hold rather than Fix and Flip or sell in a few years, what cash reserve do you think I should have to feel like I am prepared for the WORST case scenario (e.g., another recession, client vacancy of 6+ months, etc). Is $10,000 in reserve "enough"? I currently have a fully paid off house, and zero debt whatsoever. 

That said, I'd hate to find myself in a position where I am struggling to financially support my mortgage payment in the event of vacancy / recession. 

I'm stoked to start this process and have a solid grap of the fundamentals, but I want to make sure I'm prepared for when sh... hits the fan. 

Thank you so much for your advice in advance. 

User Stats

Votes
Travis Biziorek
  • Investor
  • Arroyo Grande, CA
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Arroyo Grande, CA
Replied Dec 29 2023, 20:28

Hey Jake, I can give some advice since I know the Detroit area extremely well. I own 12-doors in the actual city of Detroit and they've done phenomenally well for me.

I would highly recommend not excluding the city itself. That's where the biggest opportunity is today hands down. I'm happy to send you some resources about that if you'd like.

Regarding reserves, I'd say $10,000 is plenty for one home in the price range you're considering. It's probably more than enough.