Victor Lo
Pro Member
Votes |
Beach condo vs SFH

Victor Lo
Pro Member
Posted Mar 16 2024, 11:22

Hello all,

I'm new to BP and real estate investing. I live in San Diego and am interested in investing locally to be a little more hands on while I am learning. I am aware that Southern California in general is expensive and positive cash flow appears non-existent. My initial thoughts on strategy is to buy and hold and ultimately build equity.

In looking locally, Oceanside seems like a more "reasonably" priced coastal location compared to some other San Diego areas. I am considering a 1 bed/1bath beach condo for STR. However, when I look at prices in Oceanside, that beach condo could also buy a small SFH more inland. Though with recent STR regulation changes, it looks like many SFH locations do not allow STR and can really only be used to LTR. In comparing the two options, what are some opinions from the BP group?

Thanks in advance!

User Stats

Votes
Joel Bongco
Pro Member
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Mililani, HI
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Mililani, HI
Replied Mar 16 2024, 23:40
Quote from @Victor Lo:

Hello all,

I'm new to BP and real estate investing. I live in San Diego and am interested in investing locally to be a little more hands on while I am learning. I am aware that Southern California in general is expensive and positive cash flow appears non-existent. My initial thoughts on strategy is to buy and hold and ultimately build equity.

In looking locally, Oceanside seems like a more "reasonably" priced coastal location compared to some other San Diego areas. I am considering a 1 bed/1bath beach condo for STR. However, when I look at prices in Oceanside, that beach condo could also buy a small SFH more inland. Though with recent STR regulation changes, it looks like many SFH locations do not allow STR and can really only be used to LTR. In comparing the two options, what are some opinions from the BP group?

Thanks in advance!