• New to Real Estate
  • Iowa
Votes |
Real Newbie Questions

Katelyn Nelson
  • New to Real Estate
  • Iowa
Posted Mar 26 2024, 15:51

Hello, I'm Katelyn I'm only 20 years old, but have been thinking about getting involved in real estate for the past couple months. I submitted my last post and realized how general and vague it was after digging through and reading some other posts. I guess I should clarify, I'm really new to the real estate world. I'm seeking guidance on where to start when it comes to understanding terminology and what my options for investments even are. I don't have any specific goals set yet. All I know is I would like to be able to have 2 investments this year. Not sure if that's possible or what they would even be. I've read some of Robert Kiyosaki's books, but I have no technical knowledge about what I should really be looking for in this industry. I know I want to be a real estate investor eventually. But I guess I'm not sure what content to go for that will explain to me what I need to know before making any investment, the different types of investments, how hiring people works, If I should go work for someone who is already an investor, and if I do I'm not even sure what they would even need or if investors even hire anyone who's new. I'm also getting mixed messages regarding having a real estate license. I don't know if I should spend money to get one. If I should work as a real estate agent even though I want to be an investor or if I shouldn't bother with it. I don't mind working, especially if it has the value of knowledge. But I don't want to have a new job like this and to stop there. I ultimately do want to be the person who owns the assets. Anyway thank you for reading this.

User Stats

Votes
Daniel McDonald#4 House Hacking Contributor
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Beverly, MA
Votes |
Daniel McDonald#4 House Hacking Contributor
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Beverly, MA
Replied Mar 26 2024, 18:04
Quote from @Katelyn Nelson: