Set up S-Corp... company name ?

6 Replies

Last night I set up an S-Corp and obtained a tax ID, with our goal being primarily flipping and short term investing.

But what about securing a company/business name to use? Was the name I entered in the S-Corp process secured in my name? Ive reviewed the process for LLC's and Doing Business As, neither of which apply with a S-Corp. We'd rather not do business in our own name, and are looking to get some business cards, free website and some other materials.

How should I go about making sure the name is secured or getting it in my possession?

Hi Patrick,

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer, but this is what I have understood from my research.

I researched this recently from the LLC standpoint and found it may be beneficial for my case the use a DBA especially when I have several LLCs.

In general as I understand Florida rules you are not required to use one for any of the formally registered business entities if you are using the business name filed. You can file for a "fictitious name" for $50 (and are required to do so if operating under any name other then your own when functioning as a sole proprietorship).

Generally you should ensure your name is available first (see link) and then if it is, file under the name you wish to use.

Biz Name Search

That being said.... I am going to use a reasonably priced attorney initially to validate my structure(s) and then incorporate the new entities as needed as time goes on.

If you don't like the paperwork and forms consider a service that files are your annual business information (usually $120-$150 per year).

I used both Mark Kohler's firm and RocketLawyer as a starting point for pricing and services (side note Brandon Turner did a nice write up on RocketLawyer in a blog post and there is even a discount for BP users).

-Keith