My Newbie Qs

22 Replies

About Me
Hello, everyone! I'm Jeff, a 29 (soon-to-be thirty) year old looking to explore the world of real estate. Specifically, I'm looking to buy, renovate, and rent out property. I have no experience, but I'm taking advice from my cousin and his father.

The two of them currently operate half-a-dozen or so rent homes. I'll definitely ask them for advice, but I also want to hear what the BP community thinks. After all, it never hurts to take in more opinions.

The Purpose of this Thread
I don't want to create a thread for every question I've got for which I'm sure there will be many. Therefore, I'll rather condense it to a single thread and not spam the forums.

Questions

Situation: I'm looking to purchase a house for $50k. I'm pondering how I should finance the mortgage. A 5/1 ARM looks real enticing with its interest rate under 5%.

#1. Should I go with an 5/1 ARM? I literally began reading about them within 24 hours. Are there better options out there?

#2. I have enough capital to buy the house outright, but I'd rather finance the house with a $50k loan and put down 50% (if possible). This would allow me to have enough money in the bank should I go after another rental property sometime down the road (2-3 years). Opinions?

#3. Can I pay back the (ARM) loan back after 2-4 years before it goes into 'variable interest rate mode' without paying any additional fees? I ask this because the rate seems too good to be true. Is there a catch?

#4. Are there any minimum/maximums with ARMs? I'm using the search at Bankrate and based on where I live (Bossier City, Louisiana), it seems I get no results unless I use 20% down or less. (I'd much rather put 40% or more down. I hate paying interest.)

Hi Jeff and welcome to BP,

It sounds like you have some great resources with your cousin and uncle. And of course you now have BP as well!

Here are my responses to your questions and these are just my opinions: