Continue renting or buy primary

17 Replies

So I'm just starting out in Denver, and my ultimate goal is to increase my cashflow. I'm currently renting at an apartment in the Highlands for $1,300 a month and I'm not pocketing much after expenses each month. 

Basically I'm wondering if I should keep renting and use my 25K savings to invest in a rental that would (hopefully) add income. Or if it would be better to use that money as a down payment on a condo as a primary residence. 

I am finding places near capital hill that look like I can keep my expenses down around $1,000/month including HOA, taxes and insurance. I'm not convinced that I'll be able to find a rental property in the Denver market that would net $300 each month.

Any thoughts? I just want to make sure I'm not missing anything!

If you are buying a primary, I'd buy a duplex or something you can rent part of it out for increased income and reduced living expenses.

My son was renting in Virginia Beach for $1200 month, splitting it with a roommate. He convinced the roommate to rent a room if he bought, so he purchased a 3 bdrm, 2 bath house with 0 down using Virginia's VHDA program (first time homebuyer -- it helps finance their FHA down payment), and rents the room to the same roommate he's had for years, anyway. He pays less than he did at the apartment for a much nicer home, the roommate pays the same for larger room, bigger house, better amenities (roommate went out and bought a backyard grill first thing, not allowed in apartments), and my son is building equity and appreciation instead of paying someone else's mortgage. Look into your state's programs as most offer first time home buyers a 0 down deal after taking a class on home ownership and agreeing to live there 2 years or more. Buy, get a roommate to really cut your costs, and save your 25K for your first investment property.

Just like @Lynn M.  said.

We did that with our first home. Bought a 3/2/2 and moved in a good friend of ours.