First time investor NEED help to decide if a good deal!

13 Replies

Thinking I am ready to move forward with this deal. My husband and I are in are in our young 30's and are already homeowners and decided we want to start to invest in rentals for our future retirement. We live around the Pittsburgh area and found a 7 unit apartment in Braddock (4 units are currently renovated) All have tenants. Here are the #'s

Asking 140,000

They countered at 127,000 with paying 6% sellers assist.

We will put 20% down

Total yearly rents are $32940

Taxes $3185

Water and sewage $1620

Insurance $1500

Property management 10%

All the calculators I did shows approximately 18% Cap rate...I am VERY new to this ...so PLEASE give me any and all input you have. Thank you

@Kim Conley  congrats on getting this far on a deal! Using 50% expenses I've got it at a 12.9% cap rate. What is the market cap rate for that area? I'd also take into account the age of the building and maybe bump it up to 55% to 60% expenses depending on how old it is. That will give you conservative ballpark #s then it's a matter of proving or disproving those expenses during due diligence.  

You'll also want to consider the location and if it's in the path of progress. I don't know the Pittsburgh area but I'm sure many Pittsburgh people on BP can help out with that. 

Lastly, is there upside? For any purchase I'd always want there to be some upside to increasing the value of the property. In this example, perhaps it's renovating the remaining units to command a higher rent. 

Medium logo1Joe Fairless, Best Real Estate Investing Advice Ever | http://www.apartmentsyndication.com | Podcast Guest on Show #227

@Kim Conley   I buy on the eastern side of Pittsburgh, but have avoided Braddock.  It's pretty rough.  You can find 5 and 10k houses there pretty easily, but I'm not sure how well they will rent.