What time is the right time?

12 Replies

This question goes out to all investors new and veteran. Currently I am wondering when is it the right time to let my friends and family know about my goal to become a real estate investor. I know there is no right or wrong answer and that the decision is completely up to me. I would like to hear when experience investors told their friends and families. Likewise, new investors, when do you plan on on telling them?

As of right now I am still in the education phase of my real estate investing career. I do not feel that right now is the time to let everyone know as I do not have enough knowledge about the business yet to sound confident to my peers. I strongly believe that my confidence will build as I continue my learning.

Any and all suggestion, tips, and comments are welcome!

Thanks!

Hey Kyle,

I'm a Freshman to REI and I told my parents and girlfriend right away! They all wanted more information so I educated them a little bit on the general idea of it and they were all VERY supportive of my dreams. My dad even made the suggestion on going into business together which is so awesome. I hope this helps!

-Josh

As soon as you can articulate what you're going to do.  The more you say it, the more real it will become.  And, if you can explain it to others, then you know you understand it. 

There is no right time or wrong time.  There is only NOW.

You tell them you intend to purchase properties below market value and sell them for market. Or...you intend to purchase properties at a price that allows you to rent them for monthly cash flow. Whatever your REI strategy is, it isn't all that complex to explain.

@Josh Barnes  yes, thank you for the input! That is awesome that your dad suggested that.