Best bang for my buck

15 Replies

I have a question for some of you people that have long term success in REI. What angle would you start from if you were in my shoes? I work full time and I have about $72,000 cash on hand. I am near the Toledo, OH area. I have some experience with home rehabbing and home building. Homes in my area go for 10k-100k. Just curious if you ha I start all over again with my situation, what you would do.

Hi Jim, what are your goals for investing in real estate? Are you looking to preserve your capital? Are you looking for a slightly better return that stocks? Are you wanting to build a real estate business? Are you looking for giant returns like what you can get flipping? Also, how much work do you want to put into it? 

There are a ton of directions you can go with that much cash in Toledo. It really depends on your goals, your skills and your time. 

@Jim Zatko  Seeing how your time isn't one of the things you have, and as @Ryan Pyle  say, you need to figure out what your goals are, I would look for a partner that does have the time...and is just looking for funding.  In fact, since @Ryan Pyle 

is in Toledo, why not contact him to see if he's interested?

Joe Villeneuve
REcapSystem
A2REIC

I would say my goal is for good returns, like flipping, or building a real estate buisness. Ie built 2 homes in south east Michigan, so I have a decent amount of experience and connections contracting work. Even though I work full time, I do have time to commit to a flip, I just wouldn't do all the work myself.

Jim, did you build the homes for yourself or for clients? What about spec building?