Newbie - highly interested in investing in real estate.

10 Replies

Hello, 

I am a Newbie to BP. I recently secured a position with a company that is paying me very well, and now starting to pack away some money with hopes to begin investing in real estate. I currently work 7 days per week, but I do have free time during the day to log onto my PC for personal activities. I'm looking for recommendations and guidance for investing in real estate online. Is there such opportunity? Can I begin to build my empire remotely? Thank you.

@Vincent Hawkes  

Welcome. Yes you can build your team remotely but you need boots on the ground. Time to build the foundation below.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Check out BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginner's Guide - A fantastic free book that walks through many of the key topics of real estate investing.

Check out the free BiggerPockets Podcast - A weekly podcast with interviews and a ton of great advice. And you get the benefit of having over 90 past ones to catch up on.

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses,The Book on Estimating ReHab Costshttp://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and all the cash buyers (rehabbers) you will need.

Consider checking out HUD homes for small multi's owner occupied gets first crack.

You might consider Niche or Specialized Housing like student housing. Rents can be 2-4 times more. Remember you don't have to own a property to control it.

Download BP’s newest book here some good due diligence in Chapter 10. Real Estate Rewind Starting over

http://www.biggerpockets.com/files/user/brandonatbp/file/real-estate-rewind-a-biggerpockets-community-book

Good luck

Paul

@Vincent Hawkes