Interest payback on family loan to get started

8 Replies

Hello All! I'm new to BP and am absorbing all of the great info on this site. I want to focus on fix & flips, but I have little to no money to get started. I'm thinking of swallowing my pride and asking my father for a 25-30K loan to get started. This amount would be my "skin in the game" for a hard money loan. My question is this... What is the best way to structure the payback of this loan to make it of benefit for my father?

I think that instead of just asking for the money outright, I would find a deal that you have already contracted, use the financing contingency as an out if you cannot get the funds, go to your Dad with the deal and show him the potential profit with hard numbers (sold comps, repairs, expenses, etc.).  This way you have something solid for him to appreciate. I would explain to him that he would be protected by a first lien position in the property and you could structure the payback as an equity split on the back end when you sell it.  Say 50/50, 60/40 or whatever is comfortable for the two of you.

I'd say: find another way other than borrowing from your father...especially since you have not done this before.  So many things could go wrong and you would risk losing his money.     Then what?!

I'm with Art.   If you have no experience doing flips, working in real estate or working with contractors.   You run a very good risk of making serious mistakes.  

No company avatar mediumBrian Mathews, Brian's Heating and Cooling | [email protected] | 512‑350‑8704 | http://www.brianac.com

Art A. & @Brian Mathews
I'm considering a hard money loan that offers 90% of PP + all rehab costs. I realize that hard money loans require "skin in the game". I have only 6K in reserves and am thinking my initial out of pocket investment will be closer to 20K or more. Other than borrowing from family, what might you suggest to get started? Any thoughts would be appreciated.