Wholesaling...Is it a legal practice?

24 Replies

I am attempting to begin my real estate investment business. I have been getting mixed reviews on whether the practice of wholesaling is legal or not. I've read that the benefits are that you need very little capital to do it,and  that you can receive a finder's fee of sorts. I'm also told that it is not ethical or it is fraud to put a house under contact that you are not able to buy, and are not truly intending on buying. How exactly can you do this legally and ethically? I am a real estate agent, so I want to see how that factors in as well. 

My understanding is Wholesaling is legal if you are an agent. I know agents that wholesale properties in my area.  You need to be open and clear to leads/clients that you are an agent and wholesaler.  If done correctly you do own the property that you are wholesaling on closing day till it is transferred to end buyer.  Like any other real estate transaction you make sure you include contingencies that allow you to exit a deal if need be without penalties. 

The understanding I have of wholesaling is, that your the middle man between buyer and sellers a partner of sorts with the local real estate investors.

Wholesaling can be done several different ways. Some are legal, some are not. Regardless of the way you choose, it doesn't matter whether you are an agent or not.

If you have no intent to perform on the contact if you do not assign it, it is absolutely unethical, and most likely illegal. In this case, being an agent and listing it is the right answer.

Wholesaling is definitely legal if you are a real estate agent or broker.   

Yes Wholesaling is legal. 

Could you put some spin on it that made some aspect of the deal illegal, yes; like failing to disclose that you are an agent.