Home Equity Loan

12 Replies

Hello, I'm just getting started in real estate. I'm learning ways that I can hopefully buy or make a large down payment on my first rental property. A home equity loan or HELOC seem to be my best options right now. Although I've found many great resources on BP to explain how to obtain a home equity loan or HELOC, I have not been able to find information on the repayment process. Could any one explain this to me or post a link to a helpful BP post? Thanks.

HELOCs typically have a draw period and a repayment period.  During the draw, payments are sometimes interest only, sometimes based on the amount you've taken out.  Usually, at any point you can lock in the loan and convert to a fully amortized loan.  At the end of the draw period the balance will usually be automatically converted to a locked in rate and fully amortized.  Lot of hedging in there because terms vary quite a bit.

If you're going down this road, be very sure you can repay the HELOC even if your RE investments completely fail. Otherwise you run the risk a bad investment resulting in you losing your residence.

Jon Holdman, Flying Phoenix LLC

@Jon Holdman  some lenders also have "early pay off" penalties as well correct?

I've not seen a real pre-payment penalty on HELOCs, but they do sometimes make you repay some of the upfront costs if you take out a loan and then pay it off quickly.  Typically HELOCs don't have any up front costs like a refi does.  At least some of those costs are incurred by the lender.  They're just eaten by the lender on the assumption they make enough over the life of the loan to pay them off.  But if pay the loan off quickly, they will want repayment of some of those costs.

Again, very important to read the loan documents and understand what you're getting into.  These are much more varied than a conventional mortgage.

Jon Holdman, Flying Phoenix LLC

Originally posted by @Jon Holdman :