To License or Not to License?????????

14 Replies

Hey all,

I'm a newbie Wholesaler and am really struggling with finding deals and more importantly when I do find what could be a deal finding reliable comp data for ARV. I'm not getting very much cooperation from realtors on helping me with comps.

I'm on a very limited budget to get started and am weighing the merits of becoming a licensed real estate agent. 

Pros: Access to MLS, Access to seeing listed houses any time I want, if I work with an RE agency getting to sell properties, Making referral fees on those deals that the numbers don't work.

Cons: Taking a lot of time out of my days to get the license, costing valuable $$ that could be going into DM campaigns, and a little nervous it's distracting me from taking my eye off the prize - in other words is this just one more place I am choosing to get more educated rather than just diving in and making deals.

Any input???

As a newly licensed investor as of about 3 weeks ago, I would say DO IT!

Yes it took time, money, and effort away from the end goal, but I'm definitely glad I did it.

Side note: Take time to put yourself out there to other investors as a real estate agent. Ask them EXACTLY what they're looking for and FIND IT for them. You'll probably get "I'm already working with an agent" 9/10 times, but if you actively seek and bring properties to these investors, they will gain trust in you and ultimately use you. Just ask their permission to send along any properties within their criteria and go from there. Essentially I'm acting as a bird-dog with MLS access, which makes it MUCH easier to get in touch with listing agents and having an educated discussion about their sellers and properties, ultimately leading to better deals for the buyers/investors.