Rental Calculator numbers don't make sense

17 Replies

Hi everyone,

I am brand new to Bigger Pockets.  I have started using the rental property calculator to assess the profitability of  a typical 2 family in my neighborhood.  Prices here in Riverdale, Bronx, NY are high.  But rental prices are high too so I though there should be some correlation.

The average 2 family houses are advertised for $800,000. An apartment may rent for about $2,500 ($5,000 for the 2 apartments). Using the calculator I needed to go down to a purchase price of $200,000, assuming $50,000 for repair and ARV of $300,000 before the number started making sense (COC of 10.44%, positive cash flow of a couple hundred dollars, and a Cap rate of 7.10%. The point is that I kept the rental price at its true estimated rate ($2,500). Obviously you cannot get this kind of rental in a neighborhood where houses cost as low as the numbers I entered above. Am I doing something wrong? Thank you so much for caring to clarify.

Mark hi,

Thank you so much for replying. I believe I have a basic understanding of ARV. That is my point though. There seem to me no correlation between the cost of these houses and related expenses to the potential income. I am looking to use a 3.5% FHA loan. I needed to bring my numbers down to $300,000 basically to avoid a negative cash flow.

It should come out just fine. You might find a mortgage calculator you like online and cross check numbers for assurance. It is totally possible to eval a property and get negative cash flow and that's a deal breaker right there.....

@Boaz Golani  , I think the issue is not that the rental calculator is not making sense, it's that buy and hold where you are looking doesn't make sense.

NOI (Net Operating Income)= Income - Expenses

Cash Flow = NOI - Debt Payment

Cap = NOI / Purchase Price

Prop Value = NOI / Cap

Cash on Cash = Year of Cash Flow / Down Payment

What do you assume your expenses to be on a 2-family?