College Student 19 wanting to start

10 Replies

Hello,

I am currently a freshman still at home with a lot of free time. I have been interested in real estate since middle school and am certain it is something I want to do. I know I can be a little ambitious and anxious but I really want to start now. I have done much research and reading and have even interned at a commercial real estate bridge loan firm. I do not have a job and have about 1000 cash. I really want to get started in the business but am unsure of the right approach/path. Any help or advice is appreciated. Thanks

@Chris Stephens`

First things first: welcome to BP!

Given that you're still in school I'm going to assume your budget is small: Ramen noodles for dinner small. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Given that assumption what I'd advise is simple: (1) join a REIA group near you. It's typically $250+ a year to join. It's worth every penny. Don't get sucked into the hype and feel like you have to spend $4k in order to get started. But DO get everybody's business card that you can.

(2) Look on Meetup.com and see if you can meet up with real estate investors in your area. There are a LOT of BP members who've started their own mini-REIA's this way. Get more business cards and get to know people.

Once you've formed a few relationships and have your bearings ask someone if you can shadow them for a day or two to see if you'd like to do what they do. Take notes, lots and lots of notes.

You might score a side-job this way. If nothing else learn to bird dog (property scout) for wholesalers. Start with Part One of the Driving for Dollars Bible.

I hope that helps!