Newbie here and plan to start soon. Questions about 401k and equity.

11 Replies

Hello! My husband and I are learning how to invest our money into real estate. Right now we have about $5k in equity in our home, and $17k in 401k. Great credit, we have also been approved for an investment loan.
My first question is, What do you think about using our 401k or equity as part of a down payment? If so, how do we do it? Honestly, I'm not sure which steps to take first. There is a house we are interested in, to buy and hold and rent it out. The owners inherited it and is planning to sell very cheap, around $40,000. It's a nice little 3 bedroom house but needs work- electrical, hvac, windows, pipes, maybe roof. I feel like it can be a great opportunity to start with.

@Account Closed

You probably will not be able to access the $5K equity in the home, too little.

Is the 401k with the past employer? If so - then you can roll it over into self-directed IRA or 401k. Being small business owner you need to look into self-directed Solo 401k - this is a great vehicle to build wealth in a tax-free or tax-deferred environment. It also will help you minimize your tax liability now.

You can learn more about it in my BP blog where it's compared with SD IRA:

http://www.biggerpockets.com/blogs/2810/blog_posts...

Hope this helps.

Dmitriy Fomichenko, Broker
(949) 228-9393

Thank you for the advice! I never heard of a solo 401k for me. I will definitely look into it.  The 401k is actually my husband's under his current employer. Can he roll it over, or maybe take out a loan? We hardly have hard cash on us at the moment so this is a little frustrating.