what am I doing wrong?

17 Replies

I just started training in March. I've gotten marketing tools out including business cards. Postcards, and ads during April. My goal was to make my first deal in May. Its going on June and I haven't even acquired my first property or any feedback from marketing. What else can I do to actual make something happen? Thanks in advance for any support that's out there.

How many Postcards have you sent?

I sent out the first 50 to pre-foreclosed in targeted zip codes. Another 100 waiting, didn't want to send anymore without knowing that it works.

Hey Tracey tell us more about your goals. What are you trying to do? Are you a wholesaler? I am not an expert in marketing but sending out post cards and yellow letters is strictly a numbers game. You may need to send out thousands to find a few. You may not be doing anything wrong but may just need to send out larger number. 

Originally posted by @Tracey Armstrong :

I sent out the first 50 to pre-foreclosed in targeted zip codes. Another 100 waiting, didn't want to send anymore without knowing that it works.

Define "pre-foreclosed" for me if you would.  Are these from court filings or a list provider.  If these are properties that have been filed for the June auction, that's on Tuesday so don't bother wasting the postage.  You should be able to get more that 150 per month in Harris county, assuming that's where you are mailing.  Response rate for me sending out around 300 postcards to foreclosure filings in Dallas county is between 1%-2%.  That's 5 or 6 calls, most of which are just calling to yell at me.  I imagine the Houston area would be around that or a little less.

Folks posting here report response rates to direct mail on the order of a few percent.  With just 50 postcards you'll be lucky to get a call.  And it will take dozens of calls to get a deal. 

Many times you have to hit the same person with multiple mail pieces to get a response.